… or why mentoring young academics, whether women or men? And what to tell them? There’s quite a lot of material and discussion on the topic. Just google, you’ll find out.

So, a quick reflection on what I did today. I’ve been invited to lead a workshop on how to get your paper published, as part of a the Conference by Women in Philosophy 3# , organised entirely by MA and PhD students from the University of Amsterdam and the Free University of Amsterdam. Kudos to the Ladies there, they have done a great job!

What you’ll find in the slides is probably all known to you. Or perhaps not all. There are a few of things that I’d like to emphasise. First, we’d better publish papers with positive results, rather than just negative results. Second, we’d better write referee reports that are constructive, rather than just destructive. Third, none of our results is just ‘ours’ so we’d better do things collegially, at all stages of the publishing process.

This is the way I try to train my students in writing papers and in raising points for discussion at seminars. This is the way I try to write my papers and referee reports. This is the way I try to carry out editorial work.

This is not independent from a certain meta-philosophical stance that I tried to develop lately and that I presented at some conferences recently (more info to follow soon). And not even this is just my own idea, but the result of years of collaborations with a several people, especially my friend and colleague Phyllis Illari.

And now, go enjoy philosophy!

